
 MEDICAID STATE PLAN PERSONAL CARE SERVICE STANDARDS  

   
JULY 2006 Page 1 of 6 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 
MEDICAID STATE PLAN PERSONAL CARE 

SERVICE STANDARDS 
 



 MEDICAID STATE PLAN PERSONAL CARE SERVICE STANDARDS  

  
JULY 2006 Page 2 of 6 

Medicaid State Plan Personal Care Assistance 
 
 
Service Definition:  Personal Care is a level of care for individuals who do not require 
care in a NF or ICF/MR.  Personal Care services may be provided by an individual DHS 
certified contractor employed by the client or by an agency holding a valid certification 
and contract to provide Title XIX Personal Care service.  Personal Care is defined as 
assistance to an individual in carrying out activities of daily living, such as bathing, 
grooming and toileting or in carrying out instrumental activities of daily living, such as 
preparing meals and doing laundry, or errands directly related to the member's personal 
care needs to assure personal health and safety of the individual or to prevent or minimize 
physical health regression or deterioration. Personal Care services do not include service 
provision of a technical nature, i.e., tracheal suctioning, bladder catheterization, 
colostomy irrigation, and operation/maintenance of equipment of a technical nature. 
 
Provider Title:  Personal Care Assistant (PCA); Personal Care Assessment/Service 
Planning Nurse 
 
Minimum Qualifications:  Provider has a current ADvantage Program certification and 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority contract to provide Title XIX Personal Care services.  
The Provider agency meets all licensure requirements as set forth in state regulations 63 
O.S., Sec. 1-1961 et seq.  The PCA is at least 18 years of age, has not been convicted of 
a crime as defined in 63 O.S., Sec. 1-1950 et seq., has no pending notation of abuse or 
neglect as reported by the Oklahoma State Department of Health Nurse Aide Registry, 
name does not appear on the DHS Community Services Workers Registry, does not 
meet the definition of a care recipient’s family member as defined in the policies of the 
Oklahoma Health Care Authority, demonstrates the ability to understand and carry out 
assigned tasks, has verifiable work history and/or personal references, has verifiable 
identification and meets all Medicaid contractual and certification requirements. The 
Personal Care Assessment/Service Planning Nurse is a Registered Nurse or Licensed 
Practical Nurse licensed under the Oklahoma Nurse Practice Act -- 59 O.S. Sec. 567.1 
through 567.16. 
 
Training Requirements: The PCA demonstrates competency to a qualified evaluator to 
meet the personal care assistance needs of the individual client.   
 
 
PERSONNEL 
 
A Personal Care administrative supervisor shall be designated by the provider ownership 
or administrative management to supervise the day-to-day delivery of direct Personal 
Care services.  This position of responsibility may be assigned in conjunction with other 
duties within the provider organization. 
 
The designated administrative supervisor shall be at least 21 years of age and have at 
least one year of supervisory experience in the field of health care or social services.  In 
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addition, the supervisor must meet at least one of the following criteria before performing 
the supervisory duties required by these standards.  The administrative supervisor must: 
 
• Be a registered nurse (RN) licensed in the State of Oklahoma; or 
 
• Have a Bachelor of Science or Bachelor of Arts degree; or 
 
• Be a licensed practical nurse, licensed in the state of Oklahoma with at least one 

year of experience with the direct care of the elderly, disabled, or infirm; or 
 
• Have three years experience in the care of the elderly, disabled and infirm. 
 
If the designated administrative supervisor is not a registered nurse (RN), the provider 
agency shall have an RN consultant available to fulfill the specific functions described 
later in this section.  The RN consultant must be currently licensed in the State of 
Oklahoma.  When the plan of care contains homemaker tasks only, a licensed nurse visit 
is not required.  The agency may designate the qualifications of the supervisor. 
 
Supervision 
 
The duties of the designated supervisor will include the following: 
 
• Utilize the plan of care to determine the training needs of the PCA for each client 

assigned and implement the plan of care that meets the needs of each client.  
Provide training, as necessary, based upon the needs of the PCA and/or the needs 
of the client.  Arrange for a qualified evaluator to review and certify PCA 
competency to perform required plan of care tasks prior to service delivery and 
confirm that this certification is documented on the PCA competency checklist 
maintained in the agency’s PCA file.  For all hands on personal care tasks, 
qualified PCA competency evaluators must be appropriately licensed health care 
professionals (RN, PT, etc.).  Assure agency compliance with all requirements of 
the Occupational Safety and Health Act. 

 
• Monitor the provision of Personal Care services and authorized RN visits to 

ensure that services are delivered in accordance with the services authorized by 
the Department of Human Services (DHS).  This shall include routine review and 
comparison of the PCA’s logs of services with the service authorizations for each 
Consumer.  The units of service authorized, the tasks specified, and the authorized 
frequency of delivery must be compared to the units, tasks and frequency of 
delivered services.  A written explanation of any discrepancies and description of 
corrective action taken must be signed and dated by the supervisor and be readily 
available for monitoring or inspection.  This requirement shall be met by the 
Supervisory Monitoring/Delivery Log.  The Log must be completed monthly. 

 
• Complete a written evaluation of each Personal Care Assistant’s performance at 

least annually.  The evaluation must be based in part on at least one on-site visit, 
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unannounced to the aide beforehand.  The PCA must be present during the visit.  
The written report of the evaluation should document the visit, containing the 
Consumer's name and address, the date and time of the visit, the PCA's name, and 
the supervisor's observations and notes from the visit.  In addition to information 
from the on-site visit, the written evaluation should contain sufficient other data 
on the PCA's performance to demonstrate that the evaluation was based on 
qualified observation.  The written evaluation should show what support and 
supervision has been provided to the PCA and what support, supervision, and 
other intervention is planned as a result of the evaluation.  The evaluation must be 
signed and dated by the supervisor who prepared it and by the aide. 

 
• For Individual Provider Personal Care:  Communicate with the DHS LTC nurse 

or, if an ADvantage Consumer, with the ADvantage Program case manager, 
regarding changes in any Consumer’s condition and recommended changes in 
scope or frequency of service delivery. 

 
• Report any PCA suspected of abuse, neglect or exploitation to the Adult 

Protective Services staff of the Oklahoma Department of Human Services, the 
Attorney General Medicaid Unit and the Oklahoma State Department of Health. 

 
RN Supervision 
 
Registered nurse supervision of Personal Care services is a state requirement of the Home 
Care Act.  Each home care provider agency must have an RN available to perform 
specific supervisory functions.  While some of the nursing supervision functions may be 
delegated to a licensed practical nurse, the provider agency is responsible for having 
registered nurse staff available to perform specified supervisory tasks.   
 
Quality Assurance Framework 
 
To assure the consumer’s health and welfare, CHC and Home Care providers must have a 
foundational Quality Assurance framework in place to lead to discovery, remediation and 
improvement of issues related to personal care service delivery.  The key elements 
required for a foundational Quality Assurance framework include a process for Consumer 
Complaint and Grievance, Consumer Satisfaction Survey, Quality Self-Audit, Employee 
Education and Training Program and Personal Care Staffing.   
 
Quality Self-Audit 
 
At a minimum a CHC or Home Care provider agency must meet service quality 
monitoring and oversight requirements in accordance with OAC 310: 662-5-4.  In 
addition as part of State Plan Personal Care Provider certification as a qualified provider 
of Home Care services, agencies are required to develop and implement a Continuous 
Quality Improvement (CQI) plan that details the quality safeguards the provider has 
designed to meet the state requirements.   The provider will be held accountable for 
following the Quality Self-Audit process for supervisory oversight of personal care 
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services described in the individual provider’s AA approved CQI plan.  For Quality Self-
Audit supervisory monitoring visits, the RN shall visit the Consumer at home or 
determine that an LPN make the visit based upon the type(s) of Personal Care services 
authorized in the Consumer’s plan of care.  Until providers have an approved CQI plan in 
place they will be required to continue to complete the RN supervisory requirements as 
outlined in the October 2004 ADvantage Program and State Plan Personal Care Service 
Standards.   
 
The RN has the responsibility of determining the status of the present plan of care in 
meeting the Consumer's needs.  The LPN is under the direct supervision of the RN.  This 
supervision includes a review and co-signature by the RN for all reports prepared by the 
LPN and consultation between RN and LPN as needed. 
 
Written notes concerning the on-site visit must be maintained in the Consumer's case 
record.  In addition, the RN must keep an on-site visiting log, which lists, for each visit, 
the name of the Consumer visited and the date the visit was made and whether the visit 
was made by an LPN or RN. 
 
PERSONNEL RECORD 
 
The provider must maintain an individual record for each Personal Care Assistant.  A 
personnel record is a confidential record and shall be protected from damage, theft and/or 
unauthorized inspection.  An individual personnel record shall include, at a minimum, the 
following: 
 
• Employment application with the PCA’s signature showing date of birth, 

education, work experience, and the date employed and terminated by the service 
provider; 

 
• Documentation of at least 2 references contacted; 
 
• Documentation of all clients served and that a competency checklist exists for the 

PCA in each employee file; 
 
• Annual performance evaluation which includes observations from an on-site visit; 
 
• Signed statement(s) verifying that the PCA received a copy of the Consumer's 

Rights and the Code of Ethics, and that the provider's policy regarding 
confidentiality of Consumer information was explained prior to service delivery; 

 
• Verification that the PCA’s name is not included on the Department of Human 

Services’ Community Services Registry, including Form DDS-39; 
 
• Statement identifying the PCA’s position; and 
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• Returned ID card for a terminated PCA, or documentation of why it is not 
available. 

 
The provider must maintain the supervisor's and the RN's on-site visiting log. 
 
Copies of the Supervisory Monitoring/Delivery Log, explaining discrepancies between 
authorized and delivered services, and describing the corrective action taken, must be 
maintained in a central location and available for monitoring or inspection by the 
ADvantage Program. 
 
Providers must retain for six (6) years fiscal and service records, which coincide and fully 
document services billed to the Medicaid agency.  Failure to retain and submit upon 
request adequate documentation for all services billed to the Medicaid agency may result 
in recovery of the Medicaid payments for those services not adequately documented and 
may result in sanctions to the provider's Medicaid participation.  The provider must make 
records available for unannounced inspections and audits, with access during normal 
business hours by the Department of Human Services, OHCA or their designee. 


